Move over millennial pink, yellow is IN for spring 2019

If you can recall the spring 2019 runways during New York Fashion Week it was very clear what the “in thing” would be this season: the colour yellow.

Not going to lie, I was initially unsure about the yellow trend. I’m just not used to wearing a colour that’s so vibrant. However, I stumbled upon this dress and I just had to get it!

Yellow conveys a sense of happiness, optimism and positivity. This dress certainly cheered me up on this wintry day!

But yellow is a very bold colour and it’s not as easy to pull off as darker or more neutral shades. Yellow is eye-catching and definitely makes a statement.

So how can you incorporate yellow into your wardrobe?

Pair yellow with black or white

I layered this yellow and black check dress over a black cropped t-shirt, paired with black opaque tights and black lace up ankle boots. The bold colour pops when it’s paired with black or white.

Accessorise

Think handbags, purses, heels, trainers, jewellery… Or how about nail polish?

Different shades of yellow

If bright yellow isn’t your thing, try out mustard, butter, butterscotch, lemon. There’ll be a shade out there that suits your complexion!

So what do you think? Do you already love wearing yellow? If not, are you tempted to step out of your comfort zone?

Let me know!

If you are eager for more fashion and beauty posts, why not say hi on Instagram? I’m over at:

instagram.com/themayapetite

twitter.com/themayapetite

Love, Maya x

8 comments

    • I don’t think I actually own any other yellow clothing. I didn’t think it was “my colour” but I fell in love with this dress and the trend!

      Like

Leave a comment